Celebrating St Anthony of Padua

There is so much to learn about this saint

Dear Friends,

St. Anthony of Padua is very special to me. Even before I moved to this parish (of St Anthony’s), my family attended the Feast Day celebrations and mass. Of course, another reason is that he was born in Lisbon, Portugal.

I must confess that I didn’t know much about St. Anthony until the past 5 years. All I knew in the past was that he was the Patron Saint of lost things (but I didn’t know why) and that his symbols were lilies, bread, a book and the Child Jesus.

I learned more about St. Anthony through helping out in my mother’s class while she taught catechism to Primary 5 kids.

She told the story of how St. Anthony had a book of psalms with notes but it was stolen by a young novice. St. Anthony prayed that it would be found or returned to him. Not only was the book returned to him, the novice also returned to the order!

There is so much to learn about this saint who is remembered all around the world. As spiritual preparation for planning the Feast Day this year, I will share a bit about St. Anthony every week – either a prayer or an image, a story or a quote.

I pray that through this journey, I will be drawn to God’s love and serve humbly just as St. Anthony did.

The countdown begins!

 

Author: Valerie

Live. Laugh. Love.

Leave a Reply

