Give thanks to the Lord for He is Good

His mercy has no end

Screen Shot 2017-04-25 at 7.53.04 AM.png

This year, Easter to me is… a rebirth, renewing my relationship with God. Lent taught me:

  1. Self-control (do I really need this or am I getting this just because I want to / I can?)
  2. To have spontaneous prayer and conversation with God throughout the day
  3. To also have quiet time dedicated to listening and just being in God’s presence
  4. That I have too many things I probably don’t need
  5. To live a life of praise and worship
  6. To embrace stillness and silence
  7. That the human will is as strong as his / her dedication to a purpose / cause

What can I do Lord, to serve you? – I’ve been mulling over this for so long.

The answer came during the washing of feet on Maundy Thursday. As I sat on a bench with 11 others, facing the congregation, I looked up.

Then I saw it…. I saw all the faces of parishioners, some seated too far away to recognise, but it was then when I saw how many people there were. This – this is how I can serve the Lord – by serving these people, sharing my God-encounters, and helping wherever I am placed. And how many more people we could gather around the table of the Lord!

Now that we’re in Easter, out of the tomb, may we live in the light as children of the light [1 Thessalonians 5:5] – no longer hidden or afraid, no longer dwelling in darkness and shame, no longer imprisoned. Arise, Shine, for the Lord has come!

No longer shall the sun be your light by day, 
Nor the brightness of the moon give you light by night;
Rather, the Lord will be your light forever, 
your God will be your glory.    [ISAIAH 60:19]

 

 

Author: Valerie

Live. Laugh. Love.

Leave a Reply

